Resting contradiction

I write about mental and emotional rest. We all want it. But I’m suffering with insomnia and I’m missing my physical rest. I have the same problem every year during these shortest days of the year. Instead of getting depressed I go the opposite direction. Energy abounds. It’s not really sustainable.

Penciled B&W

It’s an interesting time when you’re not getting much sleep. It’s not good for your brain (it manifests in memory problems, for example) and it’s easy to get irritable, or wordy. On the other hand, a lot gets done that might not otherwise.

At least I can be confident God is working in my circumstances because He’s leading me in triumph of something special He accomplished.

2 Corinthians 2:14-18 Darby Translation (DARBY)

***

14 But thanks [be] to God, who always leads us in triumph in the Christ, and makes manifest the odour of his knowledge through us in every place.

***

Note: (triumph in) “the Christ” is a term that refers to Jesus Christ plus the “Body of Christ.”  He is the head. Christians collectively (“in Christ ones”) comprise the body. Together, we are the entity referred to as “the Christ,” in some Bible contexts. God leads believers in the triumph of His win on the cross and we follow along spreading a smell. A smell of his knowledge. It’s a sweet smell, to God, despite the fact that some people smell an odor of death, leading to death (by choice),  while others smell an aroma of life leading to life (by choice).

***

15 For we (the aforementioned ones that that make up the body portion of “the Christ”) are a sweet odour of Christ to God, in the saved and in those that perish:

16 to the one an odour from death unto death, but to the others an odour from life unto life; and who [is] sufficient for these things?

***

Who is sufficient for these things? 

17 For we do not, as the many, make a trade of the word of God; but as of sincerity, but as of God, before God, we speak in Christ.

When I’m sharing Bible information I’m trying to put forth accurate information to the best of my ability. The verses do the talking. Any ancillary thoughts I come up with myself, are basically conjecture. When I explain a definition, that I’ve taken from other locations in the Bible, that is still accurately peddling information. That is known as comparing scripture with scripture. The Bible often defines its concepts from other places in the Bible. If I add my own ideas I’m stepping outside the boundaries of the knowledge of God being spread. My own ideas are not necessarily “wrong” but just take them with a grain of salt. They’re often from personal experiences and trying to help others understand my points of view.

Leave a Reply

